New Changes in NOC System & TEER Categories

New Changes in NOC system and TEER Categories in Canada Immigration

The NOC is a classification system in Canada for employment where the job number is listed, which stands for
National Occupational Classification (NOC). Under this approach, the Canadian government categorizes the professions. Jobs are classified depending on the kind of work and responsibilities an individual performs. The National Occupational Classification will have a new version on November 16, 2022, with a 2021 update. 

On the 30th anniversary of the standard occupational classification system, NOC 2021 marks a significant structural change. The NOC 2021 Version 1.0 now includes a new 5-digit structure and a new TEER NOC code.

TEER System

TEER stands for Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities. The Canadian government uses the TEER system to determine eligibility for career experience. This TEER system will be primarily examined by the IRCC during the immigration process.

New Version of NOC:

  • The structure of skill type and skill level is enhanced in the new version of NOC with the addition of six new TEER categories.
  • TEER is required to work in a profession.
  • Occupational codes will transition from 4-digits to 5-digits.
  • The eligibility standards for all NOC programs will be updated. 

The goal of the TEER Classification:

The TEER system strives to increase transparency in the amount of education and work experience needed to work in a specific occupation. The previous skill types are divided into low-level and high-level categories. The main aim of this implementation is to have a better understanding of the job skills of the stakeholders.  

Also read: Temporary resident to Permanent resident a new pathway to Canada PR

New TEER Code:

A brand new TEER category will be employed instead of the previous NOC skill levels. Thus, the NOC skill type or levels will no longer be used. There are ten professional categories and six TEER classifications available. The work type, education level, and work industry are the basis for the professional categories. From TEER 0 to TEER 5, which make up the six TEER classifications, 

The above two categories create the structural classification of the NOC 2021 version. Broad, major, sub-major, minor, and unit groupings are all included in the standard classification system, which uses a five-tiered hierarchical organization of occupational categories with various levels of fragmentation.

Title of Hierarchy Format Digit Representation No. of Categories
Broad Category X First Digit – X Occupational categorization 10
Major Group XX Second Digit xX TEER categorization 45
Sub-major Group XXX xxX Top level of the Sub-Major Group 89
Minor Group XXXX xxXX Hierarchy within the Sub-Major Group 162
Unit Group XXXXX xxXXX Hierarchy within the Minor Group 516

The NOC 2021 Coding System

According to the definition of broad occupational categories(BOC), the type of work done depends on a number of factors, including the industry of employment and the field of study needed to enter a particular occupation. The ten BOCs are divided into groups of 0 to 9.

BOC Level Job Category
BOC 0 Jobs in government and senior management 
BOC 1 Jobs in business, finance, and administration 
BOC 2 Jobs in the natural and applied sciences and associated fields
BOC 3 Jobs in the health sector
BOC 4 Jobs in the legal, educational, and social services sectors
BOC 5 Jobs in the arts, sciences, culture, leisure, and sports
BOC 6 Jobs in sales and services 
BOC 7 Jobs in trades, transportation, equipment operators, and allied occupations
BOC 8 Production jobs involving natural resources, agriculture, and allied fields
BOC 9 Manufacturing and utility jobs

Canada PR calcualtor


Old Vs New TEER Code:

The Old NOC 2016 Version:

The Old NOC 2016 Version

The Canadian government employs people with a particular level of ability. Depending on the category, one may qualify for immigration to Canada. The levels of previous skill types include


  • Skill Type 0 (Zero)
  • Skill Level A
  • Skill Level B
  • Skill Level C
  • Skill Level D
Level Category Profession
Skill Type 0 (Zero) Management Jobs
  • Restaurant Managers
  • Mine Managers
  • Shore Captains (Fishing)
Skill Level A Degree Required Jobs
  • Doctors
  • Dentists
  • Architects
Skill Level B Diploma Technical Jobs
  • Chefs
  • Plumbers
  • Electricians
Skill Level C High School Intermediate Jobs
  • Industrial Butchers
  • Long-Haul Truck Drivers
  • Food And Beverage Servers
Skill Level D On-The Job Training Labor Jobs
  • Fruit Pickers
  • Cleaning Staff
  • Oil Field Workers

For eligibility, the old 2016 version always considered skill types 0 to A. Make sure you are qualified under the NOC before applying as a skilled worker. 

The updated version will be applicable if you submit an application after November 16, 2022, for the job title and job code within the TEER category. If you submit your application before November 16, 2022, you will still be given consideration under the NOC 2016 category, even after receiving the ITA. 

Find your TEER Code from our immigration experts

To find it in the NOC list,  

  • Go to the official NOC Canada website 
  • Choose the NOC 2021 version.
  • Enter your job title and search.

There, you can check to see if your line of work is included or not. 


New NOC to TEER system 2021 Version: 


NOC Skill Type TEER Category Category Profession
Skill Level 0 TEER 0 Management Jobs
  • Advertising
  • Marketing and public relations managers
  • Financial managers
Skill Level A TEER 1 Occupations that needs a University Degree Job
  • Financial advisors
  • Software engineers
Skill Level B TEER 2 Occupations that needs 

  • College Diploma Degree
  • 2+ years apprenticeship
  • Supervisory Jobs
  • Computer network
  • Web technicians
  • Medical laboratory technologists
Skill Level B TEER 3 Occupations that needs a

  • College Diploma Degree
  • Min 2 years apprenticeship
  • 6+ months on the job Training
  • Bakers
  • Dental Assistants
  • Dental Laboratory Assistants
Skill Level C TEER 4 Occupations that needs a

  • Diploma in High School
  • On-The Job Training Labor Jobs
  • Home child care providers
  • Retail Salespersons
  • Visual Merchandisers
Skill Level D TEER 5 Occupations that needs a

  • No prior education
  • Short term job
  • Landscaping and grounds maintenance laborers
  • Delivery service drivers and door-to-door distributors


It’s hard to find your TEER code. Get your new TEER NOC code with the help of the Green Tree Immigration consultants. We are here to ease your immigration process. Get more information about TEER Canada 2024 by calling us for a free consultation.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *