National Occupation Classification (NOC) code

National Occupation Classification Canada

The National Occupational Classification(NOC) is Canada’s national system of organizing and describing occupations. It can help you locate information about occupations found throughout Canada’s job market.

The NOC is a useful tool for job seekers. You can use it to research:

  1. Job descriptions
  2. Educational requirements
  3. Required skills
  4. Related occupations

The NOC is often used by employers to help them write job descriptions and identify skill requirements for new job postings.The NOC is also used by many government agencies(including Immigration,Refugees and Citizenship Canada) to identify skills shortages in the Canadian job market.The NOC is updated every 5 years by Employment and Social Development Canada and Statistics Canada.

How is the NOC CODE Organized?

Basically, it is a tool that is used to classify occupations according to their skill level and skill type.Every occupation is identified by a four-number code,called the NOCcode.Eachnumber represents a different trait, which describes the type of industry, and the education and skills required.

To be eligible under Express Entry, you must have previous work experience under skill type 0, or level A or B

IT Managers, Marketing Managers, HR Managers, Financial Managers, Civil, Electrical & Mechanical Engineers.

  1. Skill Level A — professional jobs (Doctors, Dentists, Architects)
  2. Skill Level B — technical jobs and skilled trades (Chefs, Plumbers, Electricians)
  3. Skill Level C — Industrial butchers, Long haul truck drivers, Food and beverage servers
  4. Skill Level D — Fruit Pickers, Cleaning staff, Oil field workers.

NOC skill type or levels

Each NOC code represents in average 60 job titles, and each NOC is organized by skill level (A, B, C, or D) or skill type (0)

Skill Type Ocupation
0 Management Occupations
1 Business, Finance and administration occupations
2 Natural and Applied Scienceand Related Occupations
3 Health occupations
4 Occupation in education, law and Social, community and government Services
5 Sales and service occupations
6 Trade transport and equipment operators and related occupations
7 Business, Finance and administration occupations

Based on NOC Code and skill type eligibility program differs

If your NOC code skill type/level is 0, A, or B,

You are eligible for the three federal programs of Express Entry. You can also be eligible for the Atlantic High-Skilled Program of the Atlantic Immigration Pilot program.

If your NOC code skill level is C,

You can be eligible for the Atlantic Intermediate-Skilled Program of the Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program.

If your NOC code skill level is C or D,

You can be eligible for some streams of the Provincial Nominee Programs.These programs are Prince Edward Island PNP. The Northwest Territories PNP, the Yukon PNP, and others.

Find your NOC CODE

Struggling to find NOC Code for Canada Immigration.Our Immigration experts helps to find your NOC Code.

Our Happy Clients

Our Accreditation
Recognized Awards Listed in